Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Passionate Plumes First Round Finalists Announced

Passionate Ink is a Special Interest Chapter of Romance Writers of America for Erotic Romance writers. Of particular note is that, in this first round of judging, up to four copies of each book are read and scored by reviewers, authors, and readers.

As you may remember, I had the honor of being a first round judge again this year (see previous post) and the results of that first round voting follow.

I am pleased and proud as a mama hen to note that the demon/dragon book that so surprised me made it to the finals! WOOT! But, GAK! Sunny? Bad judges, no cookies! You really shouldn't encourage her! And do my eyes deceive me? Has she actually lowered herself to use a last name like the rest of the commoners?!

A couple of authors received high praise from me both here and at TGTBTU- Samantha Kane and Kate Poole. I think I'm glad I don't have to choose between their exquisite books! There are a few other familiar names on there, and more congrats go out to Shayla Black, Portia Da Costa, Elizabeth Amber, Jory Strong, Mackenzie McKade and all the other authors (except Sunny cuz this is going to make her even more insufferably pompous).

Final results, judged by a panel of Passionate Ink members, will be announced at RWA Nationals. (see UPDATE at end of this post)

3rd Annual Passionate Plume Finalists

Mechele Armstrong - Nothing To Lose
Shayla Black - Wicked Ties
Opal Carew - Twin Fantasies
Portia Da Costa - Suite Seventeen
Ann Jacobs - Roped

Elizabeth Amber - Nicholas, The Lords of Satyr
Monica Burns - Mirage
Samantha Kane - At Loves Command
Kate Poole - Anchor and Storm
Brenda Williamson - One Bashful Lady

Mechele Armstrong - Settler’s Mine 2 : The Lovers
Karen Kelley - Close Encounters of the Sexy Kind
Rena Marks - Born Again
Aubrey Ross - Seducer
Denise Rossetti - Tailspin

Paranormal / TT
Sunny Chen - Mona Lisa Blossoming
Marie Harte - Ethereal Foes: The Dragons’ Demon
Sharon Page - Blood Red
Sharon Page - Blood Rose
Jory Strong - Mystic’s Run

Denise A. Agnew - Male Call
Anna Leigh Keaton - Rescue Me
Susan Lyons - Hot Down Under
Mackenzie McKade - Second Chance Christmas
Leigh Wyndfield - Desert Heat

3rd Annual Stroke of Midnight Finalists (UNPUBLISHED MANUSCRIPTS)(see UPDATE at end of this post)

Cathleen Ross - Love, Lust, and Lies
Anne Calhoun - Liberating Lacey
Crystal Kauffman - Laws of Attraction
Jayne Rylon - Nice & Naughty
Reece Butler - Trading Favors

Crystal Kauffman - Wild At Heart
Francesca Hawley - Seeking Truth
Nadia Aidan - Show Me–The Spartan Chronicles
Noelle Henderson and Barbra Moser - Plantation Rule
Ava March - A Gentleman For Her

P.M. Black - Almost Darke
Sindee Sexton - Wings of Desire
Barbara Morgan - Soul Bound
Leanne Karella - Fairy Prince
Maggie Nash - Goddess in Trouble

Paranormal/Time Travel:
Nara Malone - The Tiger’s Tale
Hortense Powdermaker - Minotaur
Ella Drake - Bluebeard’s Hunger
Violet Summers - Saving Jenna
Corinne Davies - Believing is Seeing

Ella Drake - Scenting Cinnamon
Ava March - From Afar
Constance Denson-Hamilton - Him, Memoir of My Second Marriage to the Egyptian God of Fertility
Alannah Lynne - Reaction Time
Tiffany Kenzie - Full Moon

UPDATE: Just looked up the official rules for entry and came across some additional info (actually, use that link to see all the official rules):

Passionate Plumes Judging and Prizes:

First Round: Will be judged by readers, writers, reviewers, booksellers and librarians.

Final Round: Five finalists will be judged by multi-published authors and reviewers.

For Stroke of Midnight rules, click here.

1 comment:

Samantha Kane said...

Thanks, Bev! You know I love you, too. :-)